Volunteer recognition awards to be handed out in Niagara Falls

On Monday, November 13, 41 residents will receive volunteer recognition awards from City officials to recognize their contributions to the community in volunteerism that was completed in 2023.

The 43rd annual Volunteer Recognition Awards Ceremony will take place inside the Memorial Room at the Gale Centre Arena in Niagara Falls (5152 Thorold Stone Road) starting at 6:00 p.m. Members of Council and City Staff will be on hand to honour all of the 2023 recipients. A complimentary appetizer reception will start at 6:00 p.m., followed by the awards ceremony that will start at 6:30 p.m. The event is set to conclude at 8:00 p.m. This event is by invitation only.

This year, 27 individuals and six corporate sponsors will be recognized for their outstanding volunteer contributions. In addition, special awards are being granted to eight individuals who continuously demonstrate exceptional volunteer work. All award recipients are either residents of the City of Niagara Falls or have made a significant volunteer contribution to the community.

The City of Niagara Falls is thrilled to see our most dedicated volunteers together to celebrate their successes in person. A big thank you is given to all of the volunteers within the Niagara Falls Community. Residents can view all of the recipient names on the City’s official website (https://niagarafalls.ca/awards).

Special Award Recipients  

  • BeNF Award – Bob Prentice. The BeNF Award recognizes people who are proud to be a part of the fabric that makes up Niagara Falls and give back in a generous way to fellow residents.
  • Barbara Frum Award – Gordon West. The Stamford Collegiate Alumni Association Award in Memory of Barbara Frum is presented annually to an individual or organization that has enhanced the quality of our lives by virtue of their outstanding contribution to fostering and developing Arts and Cultural opportunities in Niagara Falls. Barbara Frum was a well-known and respected journalist, interviewer, and commentator in print, radio, and television.
  • Civic Pride Award – Kevin Fehr. This award is presented to those residents who demonstrate a true commitment to our community and help make the City a nicer, cleaner place in which to live by making a difference in the daily lives of those who live in Niagara Falls.
  • Doug Austin Award – Sean Ford. The Doug Austin Award is presented each year by the Niagara Falls Review. The award is given to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the local sports scene.
  • S.C.V.F.A. Environment Award – Niagara Parks Commission. This award is sponsored by the S.C.V.F.A. and presented by the Environmental Action Committee to those citizens, groups, businesses, industries or organizations residing or working in the City of Niagara Falls who have made a significant contribution toward the protection or enhancement of the City’s environment.
  • George MacPhail Award – Terry Thomson. This award is presented to an individual or organization who has displayed an outstanding volunteer contribution in recreation to the citizens of Niagara Falls. The award is made in memory of George MacPhail, a former Niagara Falls elementary school vice-principal and a long-time, dedicated member of the City of Niagara Falls Recreation Committee.
  • Senior Volunteer of the Year Award – Anna Racine. This award is presented to a senior resident, 60 years of age or older, who demonstrates a true commitment to our community by their volunteer work. The service that they provide goes well above and beyond and makes a significant impact on the community.
  • Youth Volunteer of the Year Award – Azka Siddiqui. This award is presented to a youth resident, 21 years of age or younger, who demonstrates a true commitment to our community by their volunteer work. The service that they provide goes well above and beyond any volunteer service required by their school.

Individual Award Recipients

  • Ken Acker
  • Lisa Bacon
  • Bruno Campagiorni
  • Mike DiBattista
  • Caterina Ficano
  • Deborah Forhan
  • Claire Gregory
  • Jan Jaluvka
  • Rene Landry
  • Iryna Lohazyak
  • Anna  Luciano
  • Mike Lukac
  • McMeekin Andrew
  • Beverly Merrifield
  • Laura Oberlein
  • Abby Olson
  • Dave Patterson
  • Daniel Rodrique
  • Debbie Rush
  • St. Paul Patriots Food Drive
  • Patrick Sirianni
  • Tom Skrzeszewski
  • Jordin Smith
  • Soup Kitchen Sunday Squad
  • Rachel Stempski
  • Sharon Sumner
  • Sarah West

Corporate Sponsor Award Recipients

  • Niagara Falls Professional Firefighters Association
  • Niagara Peninsula Energy Inc
  • Olsen-Sottile Insurance Brokers Inc.
  • Pineridge Tree Service
  • The Meat Shoppe
  • Tree Canada